Learning Lessons

As part of my effort to transform some parts in my life to become more the people we were created to be, Hubby and I have recently done a massive overhaul of our household. In every way. Rules, habits, structures, finances, you name it, we’ve 2.0’d it.

It’s been really fun in some aspects, then again very painful. Looking back at where our family was this time last year, I can see all the positive changes and I’m really happy with where were are now. But, there’s always room for more improvement. One thing though…I hate change. It makes hives appear and I crawl into a fetal position. However, I’m determined, so I’m powering through!

The kiddos have definitely felt the growing pains too, but I think they’re better for it. We’ve structured their day (Momma kinda lost her mind with Pregnancy/Baby #3 and let the inmates run the asylum for a bit), and controlled their screen time. That’s been the worst of it, and you know what? They. Are. Surviving (whodathunkit?!). They’re playing outside almost every day and sleeping better. There are less fights (less…the magic word is less), and are keeping their spaces cleaner. After a mini-momma-meltdown and (another) family meeting a couple weeks ago, they’re also helping around the house more.

Spiritually speaking, everyone is taking more “next steps”. The kids have joined Awana (kind of like a vacation bible school every week) and are really getting into the Word. Memorizing verses, working their lesson books, it’s been amazing. Nothing makes this Momma prouder than when they come up to me and ask to go over their weekly verses with them! They’re taking their Bibles to school and reading in their down time….oh my word, be still my heart.

Finances have always been a tough one for Hubby and I to manage. Life has happened a lot in the 15+ years we’ve been married and it’s been hard to stay above water most of the time. Now with a permanent position for him that’s going well and some budget re-prioritizing, we’ve been able to make a plan to buy a house in two short years! One of my current life goals is to no longer be a renter before I’m 40! He won’t make it because he married a teenager (heehee) but I’m on my way!

Side note to finances….I like stuff…I’ve said that before I know, but I really do. The thing is though…like my kids…I will survive without it. We don’t need to “Keep up with the Jones’s”. Competition in this world is futile if you’re not keeping your eyes on the right prize. That’s a lesson I’ve learned in the past year or two. Instead of comparing ourselves to others and wishing you had what they did, we should be raising each other up and recognizing each other.

It doesn’t stop there. I compare myself with other women All. The. Time. Not just in looks, weight, bling, kids, houses, etc. but in what they all seem to be better at than me. It’s been (yet another) work in progress for me, but I’m quickly learning to lay the comparing down. I have my own messes, issues, and talents. They may be better, worse, or different than other women, but the bottom line is we all have a story and our own “stuff”.

Lots of lessons learned in this season of life for my family, and I hope we continue to grow and change accordingly. It’s never too late to figure out where you’ve been, where you’re at, and where you’re heading. It may be hard…and it always seems to get harder the more you strive for change, but if we’re working on trying to become better people or to leave the world a better place when we leave it, we’ll always come out ahead.

One thought on “Learning Lessons

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.